• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Yup!

Master
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Nov 7, 2011
    I'm new to the AR Platform and clearly I understand that a 40 Round mag holds 30 more than a 10 Round Mag, but can you walk me through some other differences and what your preference is and why?

I currently have:

2 30 Round PMAG Gen2 with Dust Covers
    1 10 Round PMAG Gen3

Clearly, I need more - thinking of adding:

1 10 Round PMAG Gen3
    1 40 Round PMAG Gen3
    2 30 Round PMAG Window Gen3
    3 30 Round PMAG No Window Gen3

My thought is the 10 Round is better for prone shooting.

The window mags will be best for my SHTF Rounds

The windowless mags will be range mags

The 40 Round mag for maybe SHTF before the Window Mags are used?

Are there other things to consider?

Last edited:

teddy12b

Grandmaster
    Trainer Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    40   0   0
    Nov 25, 2008
    I have lots of pmags, and many of them are still the Gen 1's that their reputation was built on. All magpul ar-15 pmags are good, some just work better at different things than others. Personally, I like 20rd mags because when I'm at a bench or prone in the field the mag doesn't get in the way. I also like the 30rd mags for running the kinds of drills where the 30rd mag makes sense. In my opinion the 40rd pmags are too long to be comfortable when prone and won't fit most mag carriers or pouches. If you're just using the mags in a backyard type range shooting at pumpkins or something similar then none of that is going to matter.

The best thing you have going for you is that right now magpul pmags are at the historically cheapest prices they've ever been or at least within a dollar of them. If I were you I'd buy as many as you could possibly afford and stack them deep. During the last round of panic buying pmags sold for as much as $150 per mag on auction sights and people still couldn't get enough of them.