• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • cg21

Master
    Rating - 100%
    25   0   0
    May 5, 2012
    If you can only have one?? I am a complete novice been looking for awhile and have settled on the wraith digital weapon mounted nv scope.

but now I am wondering if I have been looking at this all wrong someone enlighten me. I have been looking at nv for a long time...... thought I knew what I wanted but now the helmet has thrown me through a loop.

would be used for zombies and coyote hunting would be mounted on a 308 if that makes a difference. Thanks and happy Easter.

masterdekoy

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    56   0   0
    Feb 12, 2013
    Columbus
    Definitely helmet mounted if you can only have one. Allows for much better situational awareness and means you don’t have to hold your rifle to your shoulder to scan.

cg21

Master
    Rating - 100%
    25   0   0
    May 5, 2012
    And with the headmount you just keep it down and use your normal optics ?? What would be ideal scanning with headmount flipping it up then using weapon mounted nv?

Rookie

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    14   0   0
    Sep 22, 2008
    Kokomo
    Fwiw, I ran night vision for about three hunts. Night vision doesn't work near as well as thermal, I had to flip my night vision out of the way to shoot, and it's heavy. I sold it, bought a thermal hand scanner, and never regretted it.

Night vision was good for 100-200 yards. Thermal is good for 1,000+ yards.

cg21

Master
    Rating - 100%
    25   0   0
    May 5, 2012
    Any recommendations on a head mounted budget thermal unit? It looks like head mounted stuff is more reasonably priced than weapon mounted

Rookie

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    14   0   0
    Sep 22, 2008
    Kokomo
    No such thing as budget head mounted thermal. Decent units are $6,000+ not including the helmet, mount, counter weight, etc.