• ...and so much more!
  • ACC

Master
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    134   0   1
    Mar 7, 2012
    N. Side of Indy
    I am a big fan of red dots on pistols. Every one of the guns I carry has either an RMR or Shield RMS/RMSc. I have been running the RMS/RMSc now for a couple years on a G43, CZ P10C and a G48. Overall, I have been luke warm on these sights. I never was a fan of the polymer lens. You have to clean it with dodo feathers and fairy farts as to not scratch the lens. Plus, I never thought they had the clearest dot. I have seen others having issues with getting them wet and even bending the aluminum housing. Not a rugged EDC sight IMHO.

That being said, after the beginning of the year, they came out with a glass lens version of the RMSc. I was much more optimistic about the new glass lens even though the price is STEEP ($450). Regardless, I wanted a red dot on my P365XL and was not going to by a polymer-housed Romeo Zero. Not many, if any, other options on the market now. Therefore, I decided to buy the glass lens RMSc. It arrived in late February.

First issue was that the screws they supply with the sight do not fit the P365 optics cut. Had to identify, source and order new screws to fit. They came a couple days later and then I finally installed the RMSc on the P265XL.

Second issue (and the biggie)....the red dot was flickering. Tried to switch batteries and that did not fix the issue. Obviously an electronic issue. Contacted Shield to send it in for repair. After a week, they replied and said I had to send it back to the UK for repairs. It was going to cost like $40 to mail it back there + extended shipping time. I then got on their website only to find that they have a return process form on their sight and I only have to send the sight to Florida for repair. Much better, but still pissed I about sent it to the UK. Mailed it to Florida on 3/12/20.