• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • INGunLover

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Nov 30, 2008
    I am new to reloading. I am looking for a 77 grain bullet to reload for my AR. I have found several .224 bullets that are 77 grain. They say the bullets are for AR-15 .223.

Can a .224 work in a .224? What the difference in the .001?

Can someone educate me a little, thanks.

antsi

Expert
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Nov 6, 2008
    .224 is a correct size bullet for reloading .223/5.56

77 grains is almost as heavy as it gets in .223; usually used for long distance competition shooting. Some of these bullets may not feed properly in standard AR mags, and some can only be used with specially throated match barrels. Is this the use you have in mind?

Some times it can also be tricky figuring out how to seat these very long bullets, and may require making special measurements of your gun's freebore.

Pardon me if I am butting my nose in unwarranted, but I was just wondering because this is an unusual choice for someone who is new to reloading.

INGunLover

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Nov 30, 2008
    Thanks.

I just want to try it. I know a lot of Special Forces has started using a 77 grain bullet for better performance and knock down. Further, I wanted to see if it was more accurate. I have a 1-7 twist thought that was all I needed. However, I had not considered feeding problems with it.

fireball168

Master
    Rating - 100%
    23   0   0
    Dec 16, 2008
    Clinton
    You'll not have feeding problems loading Sierra or Nosler 77's to slightly less than magazine length.

I prefer the Noslers, when you can find them.

antsi

Expert
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Nov 6, 2008