• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • dross

Grandmaster
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 27, 2009
    Monument, CO
    I have a single shot rifle - Handi rifle - rechambered from 357 Max, to 358 Winchester. I shot it for the first time yesterday. I shot 5 times no problems, then I couldn't get a round to completely chamber. Inspecting the chamber showed no visible problems.

Upon further experimentation, I discovered that if I rotate the round, every round will fully chamber and every round will refuse to chamber, depending on how it is rotated.

I don't have any factory ammo to check it with, I loaded all rounds myself with a set of dies I've never used before.

Has anyone heard of this? Right now it could be the chamber or it could be the sizing die. I think my next move is to buy a box of rare and expensive 358 ammo and see if I have the same problem. Any other thoughts? In the meantime would I be hurting anything if I marked the rounds at the rotation spot they will chamber and continue to shoot the rifle?

fireball168

Master
    Rating - 100%
    23   0   0
    Dec 16, 2008
    Clinton
    Assuming your formed your brass from 308 or the like, take one of your loaded cartridges and roll it across a flat surface to see how banana shaped the case & neck are. This doesn't necessarily condemn your die.

Do the same with one of your fired pieces of brass, note the difference.

Rechambering a 357 to 358 Winchester is a poor choice, the .346/.357" bore/groove diameters aren't well liked by heavier constructed 358 projectiles, watch yourself.

UncleNorby

Marksman
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    May 24, 2012
    Near South Bend, IN
    Did you start with 358 Win brass, or did you form from another case?