• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • ChristianPatriot

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    28   0   0
    Feb 11, 2013
    Clifford, IN
    My long range rig is nearly complete so now it's time for load development. It's a Remington 700 SS 5R Milspec. 24" with 1:11.25 twist sitting in an XLR Element Chassis. I'm gonna concentrate on the 175 SMK as my primary projectile. What are the tricks of the trade? I'm coming to understand that it's all about consistency. I plan on doing some optimum charge weight testing. Does the higher end brass give you a sizable advantage over milsurp stuff? My plans are to use LC brass, CCI BR2 Primers, 42-45 grains of Varget, and 175gr SMKs. My ultimate goal is to be able to make sub-moa groups/first round hits anowhere from 600-1,000yds. I'll take any and all advice. I'm very new to long range. This is my first bolt gun and I've never shot passed 100yds. Thanks in advance. :ingo:

RSW

Marksman
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Feb 13, 2013
    Amazing rifle. I love it! You're on the right track for sure. It's all about consistency. I weigh every charge and do it all on a single stage press. Never found a place to go out to 1000 but I know for sure what you have will take you out to 500 yds.

Other things to think over:
    Read up about setting your bullet overall length. It too has a part as well.
    Neck size after fire forming the brass
    uniform your flash holes
    i don't use military brass so others will have to chime in but I like Lapua and Winchester
    trim brass to consistent overall length
    single load every round in that rifle. Don't use the built in magizine. It's a pain when setting longer OAL and it Mars it bullets