• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • King31

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Nov 10, 2013
    Southern Indiana
    After reloading during the rain on Sunday I finally had the time to crank out some rounds. Being a cautious newbie I ended up measuring OAL on several of those completed rounds. I had some concerning numbers ranging from 1.121 to 1.130. I was shooting for 1.125 per several sources. Does anyone have any advice as to why this number is changing so much? My bench needs more support (in the process) as I think perhaps it was jarring the press slightly. It is a Dillon RL550B with Lee deluxe carbide dies w/ Dillon lock rings. Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

sugarcreekbrass

Expert
    Industry Partner
    Rating - 100%
    26   0   0
    Mar 29, 2015
    West central
    I just recently asked the same question here (look up: Rainier 124 gr HP). I think the thread is on page 2 right now. I know your bench should be solid but not experienced enough to know how much effect it will have on seating bullets. The guys who helped me said it is common for there to be a variance and no need to worry.

indyjohn

PATRIOT
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    78   0   0
    Dec 26, 2010
    In the trees
    Those numbers are an acceptable variance, generally speaking. They will go bang out of your firearm just fine, provided you've put the proper amount of powder in them. Will they group a ragged hole on a paper target? Maybe. In the 15 years I've reloaded for competition, I've come to accept a variance of .01 because of the press I use and the components I buy.

Can you improve that? Yes. Will it make a difference? That depends on your marksmanship capabilities behind the trigger.

Edit: Can you get to .005 (1.123 - 1.128)? Yes, but it takes more detailed case prep and technique on how much pressure you apply on the press handle. And a high end die set.

Last edited:

Sling10mm

Expert
    Rating - 0%