• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • mammynun

Master
    Rating - 100%
    10   0   0
    Oct 30, 2009
    New Albany
    I've been researching, saving brass, and generally plotting for years. With the imminent departure of another kid I'll have a room available to dedicate to reloading, so it's time to get serious.

Nutshell: I want to reload 5.56 and pistol calibers for "low cost" volume shooting and .308 for precision. I'm looking for manuals and and powder recommendations.

Calibers in order of volume reloaded (per month): 5.56x45/.223 (500), .308 Win (300), 9mm (300), .45ACP(200), .40 S&W(100). My plan is to get my feet wet with 9mm, then try 5.56 and move to .308 when I have some experience. These estimates may (will?) go up once I get started.

Probable press: Dillon RL 550B with appropriate accessories as suggested by Brian Enos (I'll initially buy for 5.56, .308, and 9mm). After considering the choice of a press for years, I'm pretty set on a Dillon... but I'll listen to reasons I should consider another brand/model.

Before I buy any of this stuff, I want to buy a few books/manuals on the subject... and that's where I need some help. I'm satisfied with the accuracy of factory ammo for 5.56/.223 and pistol calibers, but I want to be able to load .308 at FGMM 175gr consistency or, hopefully, better. This leads me to believe that I should buy a manual(s) that address .308 in the bullet/powder combination(s) that are generally accepted as "very good." I realize that different barrels will have preferences, but my 20" 11.25 twist 5R Savage and 18" Lilja 1:11 barreled AR definitely prefer FGMM over the other commonly available "match" ammo I've tested. So, is there an consensus as to the "best" reloading manual that addresses this?