Advice needed about reloading press I could use!

The #1 community for Gun Owners in Indiana

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • rratledge

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Dec 10, 2014
    Milan
    I have been loading for over 15 years but came down with MS. I started with Lee single stage but moved to Dillon 550 soon after.
    MS has robbed me of my legs and one arm is becoming very weak. I can still load some but it is very slow and difficult and sometimes painful. I would sell the dillon and get a full progressive with case and bullet feeder but I am scared of getting a press that needs too many tweaks and modifications to run efficiently and make me more miserable than I am. Any suggestions?

jglevyjr

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Feb 12, 2015
    Indianapolis
    The greater the complexity of the press the more “fiddling” is required: press setup for a new run, caliber changes, periodic quality checks during a load run (i.e., checking powder throw weight, OAL, etc.), clearing primer jams, restocking casefeeder (and/or bullet feeder) reservoir, etc.
    I think increasing automation (i.e., complexity) will be more difficult vs. simplicity (less difficult).
    Solution: get an ARC (Automated Reloading Companion). So both of y’all can enjoy reloading together, and your ARC can automatically do those tasks that are more difficult for you.

Old Dog

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Mar 4, 2016
    Central Indiana
    jglevyjr has a great idea. Find a reloading buddy, share your equipment, have them pull the levers. If I was closer to your location I would be glad to help out.

oldpink