Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Reloading 223 for ar platform

Searched a few threads for the answer to this and am still not sure the best route to go
    I am new to reloading and am not sure which die set to get for reloading 223 for my ar's. Should i go with the short base dies or would just a regular 2 or 3 die set with fl sizer be fine. I will be starting with new brass and then eventually reloading it and some other various brass but all will be from my personal ar's. I've been pouring over article after article and still am not sure which way to go. Figured best to ask the guru's here. Thanks in advance
    P.S. will basically be just plinking ammo im making and i have no bolt guns I'd be using it in

Expert
    Regular Dies are fine. Small base is not needed unless you KNOW it is small chamber (ie: you made it that way).

Get a Redding or Forster 2-die FL Sizer set. Forster's sizing button is better, but Redding has carbide floating buttons available. If you want best accuracy, get one or the other's Benchrest seaters...they are legitimately better on target.

If a little cheaper is in mind, then go with Hornady New Dimension, which are by all accounts great dies for the money.

Even with plinking ammo, I don't think any other dies are in contention for my money except $$$ customs.

-Nate

ETA: Crimps are unnecessary unless...well, I don't know what. If you are running 0.003"-0.004" neck tension like most FL dies will produce, in the AR, it just doesn't move the dern bullet around in recoil. Mayyyybe if I were going to full-auto...

Thanks for the info. I'll have to look into the Redding and Forrester die sets. So far been looking at Lee and Hornaday. Leaning towards the Hornaday as of now

IMHO not you aren't going to get Lee dies to save money, then just get Redding and save time wondering what to get.
    AMERICA - Clinging to our GUNS and RELIGION since 1776.

NRA Certified Instructor - Rifle, Pistol
    www.danvilleconservationclub.org
    www.jpfrog.org