Cast and plated/jacketed in same barrel.

The #1 community for Gun Owners in Indiana

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Mgderf

Grandmaster
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    43   0   0
    May 30, 2009
    Lafayette
    I'm new to reloading, but I've been shooting for a while.
    No competition, just hunting, or target shooting for fun.

Reading on another forum about someone having accuracy issues with cast bullets as opposed to good accuracy with plated/jacketed bullets from the same rifle.

One respondent told him you should never shoot cast and plated/jacketed bullets from the same barrel.
    Something about lead deposits adhering to copper deposits, which supposedly affects accuracy.

Seems to me, if you kept your barrel clean, it shouldn't matter what you run through it, as long as it is a quality barrel.

What say Ingo?

mac45

Expert
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Feb 17, 2008
    I've seen rifles that shot cast well, but not jacketed.....and vice versa.
    But these are exceptions, not the rule.
    The idea that you shouldn't shoot cast and jacketed from the same barrel is simply BS.

oldpink

Grandmaster
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Apr 7, 2009
    Farmland
    I've never shot led out of a rifle, but it is possible to get poor accuracy with lead from some rifle barrels that shoot well with plated or jacketed bullets, especially with the Marlin rifles with Microgroove rifling, at least if the lead alloy you are shooting is very soft or if you push your muzzle velocity.