• doddg

Grandmaster
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    135   0   1
    May 15, 2017
    Indianapolis
    I'm a newbie to buying ammo.
    I'd like to buy some online to save money, but what I see isn't any less expensive than what I buy at the range, and there are dangers of buying the wrong kind.
    By that, I mean the range doesn't allow "steel" jackets (if I have my term correct).
    And, when I asked about ammo in an earlier thread (back in May or June?), one of the brands I was told to stay away from (Aguila?) was sold by the range (Westfield: Tim's Shooting) and where I have bought a couple of guns (Westfield: Marksman Shooting Sports).
    So, apparently, a brand (like Aguila and perhaps Remington?) can have some poor ammo, yet also have some very good ammo, depending on the exact name (which for a newbie is confounding).
    Or, do I have that wrong and anything Remington is good (like the ads say :laugh:).

I have needs for .22LR; 9mm; .380; and .38 special

One time I was going to order ammo that looked OK online, but the shipping put it at the same price that I was getting it at the range.
    I have bought .22 ammo at Cabela when I was there, but there is so much choice that I didn't even try to buy for other calibers.
    I also have bought at Dicks Sporting Goods at the Castleton Mall when it was on sale.
    I bought some Thunderbolts and Remington Golden bullets, I believe, and some Federals.
    I have notes on what people had said at the time, just wanted to expand when I go to a place like Cabela (where I won't have to pay shipping).

I was told that all .22 calibers were fairly dirty, but CCI was good.
    I was trying to buy .22s that weren't 10 cents/ea., but I'm getting the idea that they will all be "dirty."
    I just want to know which brands are: good, average, and poor (stay away from).

When it comes to just a few rounds for personal defense, I guess I can't go wrong if I stick with: Hornady?