• Mgderf

Grandmaster
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    43   0   0
    May 30, 2009
    Lafayette
    I'm a fairly new reloader.
    I've been at it for just over a year and I've gone slow, cutting my teeth on straight-walled pistol cartridges.

I finally decided to start loading bottleneck cases and thought I'd start with .35Remington since it's so spendy and I have a new rifle to feed.
    I ordered some Hornady cases from Midsouth and they arrived today, but I'm not happy with the product sent.
    I ordered 50 .35Remington cases. I got 50 .35Rem cases, but at least 10 of them have out-of-round case mouths.
    One or two have a flat spot on one side of the case mouth as long as 1/4"!
    Several others have burrs on the outside of the rim of the case mouth.

I'm not experienced at buying new cases, but I thought they would at least be round-ish!

The package states, "Hand inspected to ensure top quality in every box."
    Are flat-spot case mouths normal on new brass?
    Am I expecting too much from new brass?

Should I bother trying to send these back, or do I just run them through a sizing die and lose one more loading or so?
    Thanks for your help.

Wolfhound

Hired Goon
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    45   0   0
    Apr 11, 2011
    Henry County
    Most of the new brass I have bought over the years has some dented case mouths in the bag. I am not sure how it happens but it's fairly common. I run them through the sizer die and it always surprises me how even badly deformed cases are completely round again. If some are beyond salvaging it couldn't hurt to contact Hornady and request a few replacements.

Just my :twocents:

M67

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    23   0   0
    Jan 15, 2011
    Southernish Indiana
    This get dinged in transit. You never know what happens in UPS or Fedex hubs, if the boxes were smashed or dropped, how much weight they had on them, etc.

It'll still work, it's what dies and prep tools are for

Broom_jm