• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Mattroth54

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    5   0   0
    Mar 23, 2013
    After looking at damn near every batch I’ve loaded on this Dillon 550, I can always find a bunch of primers that are wonky. I’ve cleaned the priming system, ensured the peg that pushes the primer into the pocket is spotless. I tumble my brass in crushed walnut shell media and deprime after tumbling. My shell plate is as tight as possible and still able rotate. The wire spring is tight against the case, keeping it from coming out the way it goes in. I’m new to the 550. Is there something I’m missing?

Attachments

• 2C1FF3A7-F218-4BA3-8F5A-0AB9AFE31F9B.jpg
      2C1FF3A7-F218-4BA3-8F5A-0AB9AFE31F9B.jpg
      135.2 KB · Views: 158

1911ly

Grandmaster
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    6   0   0
    Dec 11, 2011
    South Bend
    Wow, that is scary. Are these all the same brand primers?

There are a lot of 550 owners here that can help.

Bosshoss

Master
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    19   0   0
    Dec 11, 2009
    MADISON
    Some of the tumbler media is getting stuck in the flash hole. It is getting on top of the primer punch deforming the new primer when seating the new one.
    Might try a different media, finer or courser. Check a case every once in a while before running a bunch like that.
    Use them for practice but they still go off or at least I never had any problems with them going off. Media separator helps shakes the stuck media loose if you are not using one. Casefeeder also helps dislodge the media.

Also make sure the pivoting chute is going all the way down if it is not it will let the stuck media fall straight down on the primer punch when deprimed.

Last edited:

Mattroth54

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    5   0   0
    Mar 23, 2013