• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • joesasnit

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Feb 21, 2018
    DENAIR
    I am new to the forum, so if this has been covered, I apologize. I have been reloading for a few years and have a procedure that works well and has been safe. Never had any problems with pistol loads or bolt action rifles, but the AR type of rifle, totally different animal. First problem encountered, lack of sufficient pressure to eject the spent cartridge, 300 AAC. Solved that problem with much experimenting different powder and charge size. Next problem, failure to chamber. After much studying on the subject found out "each chamber is different". Again had to go through the process of finding the correct neck size for my chamber. The standard casing sizer was of no value. Even though all would check ok, some would not chamber. Solved that problem with much trial and error. Now I have great 300 AAC reloads. Now on to the 223. No problem with ejection, but some, even with the same neck size will not chamber. All have same OAL, but again some will not chamber. The loads were 55 gr. JHP OAL 2 23. Now here is where the problem may be...various brass types. Any ideas.

gmcttr

Grandmaster
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    12   0   0
    May 22, 2013
    Columbus
    Welcome to INGO.

You refer to neck sizing. This can work in bolt action rifles but the AR platform requires full length resizing. If you are only neck sizing..."there's your problem".

I suggest you get a Sheridan Engineering Ammunition Gauge to confirm your loaded ammo is within spec. Their slot gauge is even better and allows you to see exactly what's going on.

Last edited:

55fairlane

Master
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Jan 15, 2016
    New Haven
    Welcome, ..... an ammunition gauge will help, but from what I'm reading, you need to change how your doing things.....