• ...and so much more!
  • gregkl

Outlier
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    33   0   0
    Apr 8, 2012
    Bloomington
    I have been reloading for a few years now and up til now I have always used FMJ projectiles, 115 gr for my 9's. I use mostly 231 and Titegroup and have always seated to 1. 150 COL. Never had an issue.

Then I decided to get fancy; today I was going to work up some test loads with some 135 gr, Falcon coated lead. Nothing I did would make them work in my PPQ. I took them down to below 1" COL and they still wouldn't seat in the chamber. (PPQ's do have short chambers)

I then tried some 147 gr FMJ rounds I had around and I could get them to sorta work when taken down to 1.135. But get this; when I took it down to 1.100, it fit worse!

I measured some Freedom Munitions rounds I have and the 115's came in at 1.150 and the 135's measured 1.135. They both plunk right down in.

My nephew runs these Falcon bullets exclusively (competitive USPSA and former IDPA shooter) and says he doesn't have any issues even in his short chambered CZ's.

What am I doing wrong?

I'm thinking of buying 115's and being done with it. I had hoped to work up 4-5 different loads today and test them over the holidays.

EyeCarry

Master
    Rating - 100%
    9   0   0
    May 10, 2014
    Bloomington
    I can't remember if I have just one, or two of them. Would you like to size a few and see if that is the problem? If it works, Traildust might have one on hand for purchase. Back to your OAL's, I worry that you might be building too much pressure. Especially with Titegroup. I haven't used 135gr projectiles and don't know the range for them....

gregkl

Outlier
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    33   0   0
    Apr 8, 2012
    Bloomington