• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • freekforge

Master
    Rating - 100%
    12   0   0
    Jul 20, 2012
    marion
    Im just getting started reloading shotgun shells i plan on loading buckshot. In one book it lists sts and gun club hulls together and then others list them separate are these hulls the same?

Also if anyone has a pet buckshot load feel free to list it.

AmmoManAaron

Master
    Rating - 100%
    37   0   0
    Feb 20, 2015
    I-get-around
    They are both one-piece compression formed hulls. For trap loads, they are interchangeable...not sure why one of your manuals would list them separately. Which manual? The Hodgdon online manual shows STS, Nitro 27, and Gun Club as the same hull and shows two nice buckshot loads for them. One with #00 buck and one with #4 buck, two load levels/velocities for each recipe. The CCI209M primers that are called for can be hard to find, at least in my area.

What components do you currently have on hand?

FWIW - The older one-piece compression formed RXP hulls seem to have a slightly smaller internal volume, but they are listed together with STS and Gun Club hulls in my printed manuals. Even with my various trap loads they are distinctly different and I keep them segregated.

clayshooter99

Marksman
    Rating - 100%
    15   0   0
    Dec 3, 2008
    Gun Club and STS, Nitro 27 are all the same and loaded the same in the trap, skeet and sporting clays world, I have no idea why buckshot should be any different. They are great hull to load also.

freekforge

Master
    Rating - 100%
    12   0   0
    Jul 20, 2012
    marion