Join INGunOwners For Free
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

User Info Menu

Favorite and least favorite brass for reloading.

I am wondering what's your favorite brass and least favorite for reloading? Handgun and rifle. I have been reloading for over 25 years now and have had some issues with certain brands.

For handgun my favorite is Sellier and Bellot. Least favorite would be Amerc Brand which I found to be almost impossible to reload and certainly not worth the effort. Brass with the headstamp AMERC is made by American Ammunition Inc in Miami, FL. It is the worst quality brass imaginable. The flash holes are often off-center, the case diameter is out of spec, and it often splits on the first or second firing.Thankfully there is not much of it around anymore.

For rifle my favorite is Prvi Partizan simply because they make brass for all the old military calibers I shoot. Some of the worst rifle brass I've ran into was some Lake City 5.56 that was made in the mid 70's. It was brittle and would crack on the neck or shoulder. Other years of Lake City I have reloaded have been just fine.

So what's your favorite and what has been the worst you've reloaded?
    Veterans Crisis Line 1-800-273-8255 press 1 to talk to someone now or text 838255 available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days a year.

User Info Menu

Tough to say as I've not had a lot of trouble out of various types of brass over 45 years. Midway is probably the most common brass I shoot and I've had good luck with that. I've made a number of odd cases from other types of brass and I would say I've not had many issues regardless of brand.

I'm still loading Remington 44 Mag cases I've had since the 70s.
    Where's the Kaboom? There was supposed to be an earth shattering Kaboom.

Marvin the Martian

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Leadeye View Post