• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Jaygentry

Plinker
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Apr 23, 2018
    Noblesville
    I'm having issues with my .223 RCBS does. I've been reloading for several years, not an expert, but know the process. Had a buddy of mine try to help, but still having issues. When I go to seat the bullet, the bullet will "crimp in" but if I put my thumb on the projectile, it will push down. It is almost as if it is crimping the top ring but not the rest. Any suggestions on this? I have 2 sets of dies doing the same thing. Do I send them to RCBS? I'm leaning toward me doing something wrong. Please help.

billybob44

Master
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    384   0   0
    Sep 22, 2010
    In the Man Cave
    For the most part do NOT crimp..

Believe it or not when you crimp (Over crimp) you are actually removing some of the case neck tension that is applied with your size die.
    Yes, most of us believe that a crimp (on the cannalure) will help tighten the projectile..It does to a point, but with VERY small differences in OAL, some will be overcrimped, and this will loosen the case neck tension.

For ME, I use the RCBS TC die set. I think?? that this set also has a small base sizer.
    I KNOW that I adjust the TC seater/crimp die to just "Kiss" the case mouth of sized and trimmed cases.
    I can seat into the length of the cannalure, and get a good taper crimp with this set up with NO projectile push-back.

AGAIN, this is just MY method...Others will disagree...Bil

PS: I do NOT seat the projectile and crimp in the same step--Seat all first, and then back off of the seater stem and then crimp all...

PPS: Do NOT attempt a crimp at all if you do not have a cannalure on your chosen projectile..

Last edited:

BR8818

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    12   0   0
    Nov 20, 2018
    Anderson