Which powder to use with Dillon 550 for pistol caliber reloads?

The #1 community for Gun Owners in Indiana

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • wakproductions

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Aug 19, 2012
    Indianapolis
    I am new to reloading and interested in starting 9mm reloads with a Dillon RL 550C. However, I don't know what primers and powder to buy. The salesman in the gun shop wants to sell me a reloading book. Is this the standard way to learn how to do this, or is there a reliable online resource for finding those specifications?

d.kaufman

Still Here
    Staff member
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    128   0   0
    Mar 9, 2013
    Hobart
    Get yourself at least 1 reloading manual and read it before starting the loading process. Lymans 50th edition is a pretty good manual for that purpose.

There are lots of different powders available for reloading pistols. I prefer titegroup for 9mm, .380, and .45. I prefer CCI primers as well.

You would need small pistol primers for 9mm and once again there are several options for primers.

But once again, read and educate yourself on the process before actually reloading. One mistake could, at the least, damage your firearm, or worse case, injure you or others around you

Michigan Slim

Master
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 19, 2014
    Fort Wayne
    Get SEVERAL books on reloading. Then you wont be qualified to WRITE one on Bomb Making 101.
    You will see recipes for many powders. If you want to reload for, say .45ACP later, look for a powder that does both.