• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • unique

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Sep 6, 2017
    Argos
    Hs6,231,Hp-38, Power Pistol possibly one not mentioned. I’m new to loading 9mm and I’m looking for a powder that takes up a large amount of case volume to help guard against a double charge. I’d like to know before I buy a powder for just the 9mm. I’ve loaded revolver cartridges for a few years now never a auto cartridge. Thanks for the help

Gaffer

Shhhh.......
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    5   0   0
    Dec 12, 2016
    Southern IN
    I load several different calibers including 9mm, and I don't think I ever would have been able to double charge them without powder falling out. On the other hand I use loading trays and when I have powdered 50 (which what the tray holds), I stop and look in each one to make sure I didn't miss filling any brass with powder.

Ron

dmazzio

Marksman
    Rating - 100%
    7   0   0
    Aug 24, 2012
    Danville
    Look no further than your username! I got a deal on several lbs of Unique for cheap and it nearly fills the case in my range loads.

Ditto, Unique does a good job of filling the 9mm shell. I also use Sport Pistol and that does a good job of filling the case also. Either one would overflow if it had a double charge.

cjcycles

Plinker
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    Mar 18, 2018
    Ft Wayne
    b6a054c2bbc3be2de6ae7f33f5206d74.jpg

This picture is 4 grns of Sport Pistol which makes power factor with a 125gr Blue Bullet.

Winchester Super Field is really close to the same and a great powder for 9mm.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Karl-just-Karl

Retired
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Nov 5, 2014
    NE
    I load 4.3gn Titegroup for 115gn projectiles. I also use 3.9gn HP-38 for 124gn.

The level looks very similar to the picture posted by cjcycles. Double charges are VERY obvious.

1775usmarine

Sleeper
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    81   0   0