• teddy12b

Grandmaster
    Trainer Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    40   0   0
    Nov 25, 2008
    Pine Valley Munitions (PVM) 62gr FMJ testing and review:

Couple disclaimers:

1. I’m not associated with PVM in any way other than I knew one of the guys from years ago and he reached out to me on facebook because he saw pictures of me with guns.
    2. PVM owes me nothing, I owe them nothing.
    3. I’m not a professional reviewer, and the groups I shot were on a windy cold snowing day while getting over a cold where I was more interested in seeing how it functioned than trying to get perfect groups.
    I’m going to admit my bias going into this. I think it’s incredibly awesome that someone in my home town is trying to start a ammunition manufacturing company and I’d love see it succeed. I want there to be a major ammunition manufacturer in my home town and better yet I’d love to be on good terms with the guys making it.

zBYVrI9.jpg

LF5uDHN.jpg

Testing:
    I was given over 200 rounds of their factory ammunition to test. It was all 62gr FMJ brass cased ammo. I gathered up 6 different AR-15 types of rifle with the intent of giving the ammo a test drive in a 10” pistol all the way up to a 20” rifle full length gas with everything in between.
    As part of my testing I put 5 rounds of Federal XM 193 55gr ammo through each gun on a target on the left side using a green colored pmag, then fired 5 rounds of PVM ammo on a target directly to the right of the group I’d just shot. I wanted to have another type of ammo to compare to for FPS & S.D. and the reason I chose Fed XM193 55gr is because it’s a quality surplus ammo that’s easy to get ahold of and I had some on hand. The only exception being I fired a 10rd group out of each in the scoped SPR, but by then my hands were about frozen.