• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • rb288

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Apr 14, 2019
    Grovertown
    I have been reloading rifles for quite a few years, and am very good at making very accurate, consistent loads.
    I recently won a Dillon Square Deal b press in 9mm, in a raffle and have decided to start reloading 9mm pistol just for the heck of it.
    Mostly just plinking/range fodder, but maybe more at some time.
    I am curious how anyone decides on a pistol load?
    Do you load to a specific velocity, accuracy (I'm not sure it's as easy to determine pistol accuracy as it is a rifle), function, recoil, or what?

To start, I am loading to about 1100fps with fmj and see how that works.
    Any ideas, advice would be greatly appreciated.

700 LTR 223

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Apr 5, 2008
    The 9mm load I have been shooting the most recently is 5.3 grains of Power Pistol with a Hornady 124 XTP which is one step down from the max listed at 5.7 in my 6th Edition Hornady manual. Really great accuracy in my Glock 34. I also have a Square Deal press.

For starting out for the first time I have followed the advice given by IN71vet and Trapper Jim.

Karl-just-Karl

Retired
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Nov 5, 2014
    NE
    I usually start toward the bottom of the recommended loadings. With small batches I go to the range and check cycling with the firearm. Light loads sometimes spew unburned powder out of the ejection port.

I gradually increase the amount of powder until the firearm cycles reliably and I quit getting unburned powder on my arm. 700X was really bad with this in 45.

If accuracy is important use a rest or a bag at 15 yards. It is close enough to see holes in the paper without magnification. I use the ladder method recommended for rifle cartridges increasing a few tenths at a time in 10-20 round batches until I get close to the max recommended powder charge .