• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • dmfisher71

Plinker
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Jul 29, 2011
    Brownstown, IN
    So I have the opportunity to buy a brand new lee loadmaster press for an outstanding price.... I have been wanting to get into reloading for a long time but never have. The particular press has 38 special/357 mag dies on it, and I got on their website and noticed that they have a press for multiple different calibers, my question is. Is this press dedicated to 38/357 caliber only or can I buy .223 and 9mm dies for this loader to load multiple caliber rounds

Goodcat

From a place you cannot see…
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    151   0   0
    Jan 13, 2009
    New Pal
    I’ve never used one, I run an ammo plant, and before that had a Lee Turret. To my understanding, it’s like any other press. You just need a “caliber conversion” for each of the other types of calibers your want to run. The core press should be the same.

2in1evtime

Master
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 98.4%
    61   1   0
    Oct 30, 2011
    retired-midwest
    I have had 2 now after getting the 2nd got a refresher course as to why i got rid of the first, there is a reason they sell a explosion shield for them, had primers go bang on the 1st one and after getting 2nd one running loading along and bang primer went off, the primer delivery is kinky,high maintenance, will stick with my dillons they are well worth the money

russc2542

Master
    Rating - 100%
    24   0   0
    Oct 24, 2015
    Columbus
    The caliber specified only means the press comes with a die set for it.

For a Lee, you'll need dies of course and also the shell plate, case feed pusher, and lg/sm primer system to match. Cheaper and fewer parts than to swap sizes on a Dillon.