• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • unique

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Sep 6, 2017
    Argos
    I’m getting setup to start loading rifle (243&308). The only thing I haven’t decided on is a powder measure. Would like to get some opinions good and bad on what powder measure that you are using. I’ll be hunting with these rounds. Would like to stay at $150 and under. Thank you for the help. Matt

unique

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Sep 6, 2017
    Argos
    I’ve got an RCBS Rockcrusher IV. Using RCBS X-series dies. I’ve been reloading pistol cartridges on a Dillon 550 for several years. Just now getting into the rifle reloading.

bwframe

Loneranger
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    93   0   0
    Feb 11, 2008
    Btown Rural
    If just getting started, why not go with the Lee stuff? You can get more sophisticated later, if you think it's needed.

red_zr24x4

UA#190
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Mar 14, 2009
    Walkerton
    If just getting started, why not go with the Lee stuff? You can get more sophisticated later, if you think it's needed.

My experience with the Lee powder measures is from the early 90's and at best they were not built that great.
    For the disk measure, you were stuck with what ever was close to your desired weight. And the Powder throw (uniflow) would bind up. Both were all plastic, the screws would strip out, over time the plastic cracked.
    If you already reload and you know you are going to keep reloading buy quality.
    Not to mention, a Uniflow or anything Dillion will have a higher resale value than Lee. I'm not knocking Lee, I have a bunch of Lee dies,and started on Lee equipment. But if I would have known then what I know now I would have really thought about not buying Lee.

senork

Marksman
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Jan 20, 2008
    NW Indiana