• ...and so much more!
  • STFU

Master
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    17   0   0
    Sep 30, 2015
    Hamilton County
    I have been reloading 44 REM MAG for a while and no issues.

I am new to 45ACP and not sure if my thoughts are correct.
    I keep finding conflicting information and now I am very confused.

My components are: LPP Brass, CCI LPPrimers, Hodgdon CFE and Berry's 230Gr PRN @ .452. (First time using Berry's bullets)
    The Hodgdon site shows a max load of 6.2gr and a C.O.L. 1.200"
    My Hornady reloading manual shows a max load of 6.9gr and a C.O.L. of 1.210 @ .451 (jacketed). It does not have a CFE listing for LRN @ .452.

Should the Berry's plated be treated the same as a cast LRN since the plating is more thin than what a jacketed RN would be?
    IOW, I think since the Berry's are .452, I need to drop the CFE from my planned 6.6 grains down to 6.2(max) or lower?

ashby koss

Shooter
    Rating - 100%
    18   0   0
    Jan 24, 2013
    Connersville
    I would use the 6.2 at 1.2OAL. Run some base tests for speed and performance.

then tweak from there. The plain cast lead cannot be pushed as fast as plated or jacketed. Hard cast lead is a bit different. I’d shoot for mid line and tweak.

Last edited:

bigedp51

Marksman
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Apr 30, 2011
    Frequently Asked Questions
    https://www.berrysmfg.com/faq

Where can I find load data for your bullets?

Load data from any load manual or website can be used. Full-metal jacketed, lead bullet, or plated bullet load data can be used as long as the following standards are adhered to:

• The data contains the correct grain weight of bullet.
    • Berry's max recommended velocity is not exceeded. (This info is displayed on bullet boxes and product webpages.)
      • Standard Plate Bullets Max Velocity: 1,250 fps.
      • Thick-Plate Bullets (TP) Max Velocity: 1,500 fps.