• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • rb288

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Apr 14, 2019
    Grovertown
    I have been reloading for several years now, and have run into a conundrum.
    On my 308 loads, using 178gr AMAX bullets, and Varget powder, and a 2.800 oal, I am getting, consistently, over 50 loads, better accuracy, 1/2 moa at 100 yds, from velocities around 2100 to 2200 fps, vs 1 moa accuracy from velocities at 2400 to +2500 fps.

My question is, which is the better load to finalize for.
    My purpose is a general purpose hunting, shooting, SD, round. I don't do a lot of "long distance" shooting, 400 to 500 yds is about my limit.
    1 moa is more than adequate for those purposes, and higher velocity does have it's advantages, but, extreme accuracy at lower velocity also, has it's benefits.

Any thoughts from the reloading gurus here would be greatly appreciated.

Just looking for some feedback.
    Thanks

rosejm

Master
    Rating - 100%
    11   0   0
    Nov 28, 2013
    NWI
    I think the answer to your question lies in here: "How does that 178gr AMAX bullet perform at those velocities?"

While accuracy has its place in all forms of shooting, it's more critical to target shooting. Doesn't matter how the bullet reacts after it hits the target, when the target is paper or steel.

However, when hunting (or SD) the bullet's terminal performance is likely more important to you. Most bullets are designed for a specific set of impact velocities: varmint, tipped, bonded, HP, etc...

Sometimes that terminal performance varies greatly depending on the bullet design. Often shown in +P+ hollow points that are simply hotter loads vs. different HP bullet design. Lots discussed online about .223/5.56 performance out of SBRs & Pistol length barrels as well.