Join INGunOwners For Free
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

User Info Menu

Healthy make it yourself snacks?

I'm wanting to get into better shape. The thing that slows me down is the fact that in my job, I am on the road 90% of my time at work. The other 10%, I am sitting doing reports. I've been wanting to do this for awhile and am finally set on doing it. I want to make some cost-effective, healthy, yet still delicious snack. One that I've found and have done before is oatmeal bars. I want something like that so I can throw it in a cooler or lunchbox, take it to work, throw it on the truck and be able to grab it to snack on. Anyone have a recipe or a go to snack?
    Quote Originally Posted by LockStocksAndBarrel View Post
    Good point, stephen87! As usual it was well thought out, concise, and well, brilliant.

User Info Menu

Home made beef jerky
    Quote Originally Posted by PaulF View Post
    The bunny is legion. It cannot be banned.
    I cut grass for a living

User Info Menu

These are delicious! Sausage and Eggs to Go | Mark's Daily Apple Eat two and it's a meal.

I take a piece of fruit with me to work most days (some days I forget). Usually an apple or banana. A bag of strawberries or blueberries is good. Add some almond butter to the apple or banana for some extra calories. Bag of carrots.

There's 100 calorie packs of almonds that are good. Handful of pistachios.

You can have a couple slices of lunch meat wrapped around a cheese stick.

Stay away from the processed, sugary stuff...

Sharpshooter

User Info Menu

I do oatmeal bars that I make. Sounds like you have those. I also try to make sure I am drinking lots of water. Keeps me from trying to decide if I am hungry or thirsty (thirst can often be perceived as hunger). Fruit and veggies are good to keep around. I use many variations of what Allen Lim has put together for his athletes. See his books The Feed Zone and Feed Zone Portables though many are things that have more calories than you may want.