• KellyinAvon

Blue-ID Mafia Consigliere
    Staff member
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    7   0   0
    Dec 22, 2012
    Avon
    That's right INGOers, that sleepy town just west of Indy known for Parbellum, Fort Liberty, the marching band and robotics team (hey the Roborioles won State last year) was home to big-time drug traffickers! I thought the coverage in the story was a bit over the top but I might be a bit biased. Also, while I'm not a lawyer admitting multiple felonies to a news crew isn't something you should do.

AVON, Ind. -- Federal prosecutors announced the bust of a Mexican drug cartel accused of moving large amounts of meth and cocaine through Hendricks County.

The criminal indictment targeting 17 suspects was filed in January until finally being unsealed this week.
    Prosecutors say the drug cartel operated out of Avon for more than a year before being busted last year as part of a nationwide drug trafficking investigation.

One of the accused drug dealers freely admitted his crimes to FOX59.
    “Yeah I mean it just happened,” said suspect Roberto Macias.

When you think Mexican cartels, Avon likely doesn’t often come to mind, but Roberto Macias admitted to storing 21 pounds of meth in his Avon home last year before being caught. “I do (feel bad about it) because I messed up my whole life. I got a record now,” said Macias.

According to court records, 29 pounds of meth were driven to Avon in November 2015 and 30 kilos of cocaine came in days later. Another shipment of meth was made in December 2015 and then again in March and May of 2016 when 60 pounds of meth arrived in Avon.

The drug deals often went down in public places like a Super Target parking lot in Avon. The alleged ring leader locally was Rafael Rojas Reyes. Macias says he was just a low-level courier.

Mexican drug cartel accused of moving large amounts of meth, cocaine through Hendricks County | Fox 59

KellyinAvon

Staff member
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%