• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Rating - 100%
    23   0   0
    Mar 26, 2008
    Deadman's Hollow
    I am half way there to just going ahead with this, but I am still trying to figure out if it would be for me.

Also, the jobs that are offered, I am wondering what the best for me would be. The ones that I am looking into are - the nuclear program, Navy corpsman, or master at arms.

What is it that you did? Any help will be appreciated.

BloodEclipse

Grandmaster
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Apr 3, 2008
    In the trenches for liberty!
    I was an Electronic Technician. I tested for the Nuclear program and was accepted but I chose not to do it because of the amount of schooling involved. The school was at that time and may still be in Orlando which is nice. Orlando is where I went to boot camp and had my first Electronics classes. I can tell you this, the Navy has very good schools.

quicksdraw

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    Mar 27, 2008
    Eastern In.
    I did a hitch in the '70s. Bootcamp and EM-A school at the Lakes then USS Jonas Ingram (DD-938) (which (sigh) is now a reef off the Jersey coast). I also qualified for nuke school, but back then that almost guaranteed sub duty and I like to see the sun.
    The most important thing to remember is that you'll get out of the Navy just what you put into it ( and to dress warmly when you stand your first mail buoy watch).

Last edited:

BloodEclipse

Grandmaster
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Apr 3, 2008
    I did a hitch in the '70s. Bootcamp and EM-A school at the Lakes then USS Jonas Ingram (DD-938) (which (sigh) is now a reef off the Jersey coast). I also qualified for nuke school, but back then that almost guaranteed sub duty and I like to see the sun.