• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • T.Lex

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    15   0   0
    Mar 30, 2011
    Pay up and learn the hard way. Linux!
    Welcome to 2017. :) KillDisk (and others) target Linux, too.

Now, obviously, their hit rate isn't as good as it is with Windoze, but it is still part of the risk matrix.

Sylvain

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Nov 30, 2010
    Normandy
    I had one of my computers blocked by one of those ransomware one time.
    It asked for a Paypal payment (I don't remember how much) and locked the computer.
    The same message appeared even after restarting the computer.
    I guess this thing is more complex since I was able to delete the virus by restoring the system to an earlier date, and I'm no computer expert.

snapping turtle

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    6   0   0
    Dec 5, 2009
    Madison county
    Just remember to not click on links in email for the most part. Even from people you know.

Most phishing malware ware and ransoms ware are invited in to the system by the unknown it clicking on the unknown.

dung

Expert
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Feb 9, 2017
    Charlestwon
    I thought I had dodged the bullet with a system restore as well after mine was locked by the "fbi".

Some of my files ended up encrypted even though system restore appeared to work. Luckily I have multiple backups and just did an full restore.

Hoosierkav

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    5   0   0
    Dec 1, 2012
    South of Indianapolis
    The phishers are getting better and better, savvier and savvier, hitting regular folks and the IT-smart ones as well. They're beyond spoofing Amazon and Fed-Ex emails--they're doing Dropbox and other cloud storage spoofs--brilliantly done.

T.Lex

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    15   0   0
    Mar 30, 2011