• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • spec4

Master
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Jun 19, 2010
    NWI
    My wife got her SS letter today. Next year she will receive exactly the same amount as this year. The increase was offset by the increase in Medicare.

Not the end of the world, but so much for expecting a COLA increase on Social Security. In her case, Medicare went up $19 a month.

Mgderf

Grandmaster
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    43   0   0
    May 30, 2009
    Lafayette
    I turn 60 next year.
    I don't expect to be able to collect social security, despite having paid in my entire adult life.
    I fully expect the federal government to be incapable of paying social security benefits to ANYONE by the time I would be eligible.

PistolBob

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Oct 6, 2010
    Midwest US
    Hell with that...I've been paying in for almost 50 years...when I turn 62 I am eligible and I will begin drawing that check immediately.

nra4ever

Master
    Rating - 100%
    25   0   0
    Dec 19, 2011
    Indy
    Hell with that...I've been paying in for almost 50 years...when I turn 62 I am eligible and I will begin drawing that check immediately.

I agree with that. Give it to me now before I fall over dead or its gone.

Last edited:

hoosierdoc

Freed prisoner
    Rating - 100%
    8   0   0
    Apr 27, 2011
    Galt's Gulch
    I agree with that. Give it to me know before I fall over dead or its gone.

I wish I could opt out and still make a partial payment just for being a good citizen. They can keep the $150k or so I've paid in if I can opt out moving forward. Heck I'll still pay 1% if I can opt out and they can still keep everything.

the s&p has about tripled in that time. I wonder how the social security trust fund has done over that time period :xmad:

amboy49

Master
    Rating - 83.3%
    5   1   0
    Feb 1, 2013
    central indiana