www.thechosen.tv
    Staff member
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    35   0   0
    May 12, 2013
    Camby area
    OK Computer/sound geeks. A tough one.

Got my hands on a donated PC with lots of horsepower (i7 2.8) to drive the facebook live camera at church. Trouble is on the audio output there is a nasty 60hz hum. Said hum doesnt exist on the USB sound card when plugged into the old laptop we were using. (just moved everything to the tower; same sound card and camera equipment on both computers) So it doesnt seem to be the cable or the sound card. Its gotta be internal. And I have tried every last USB port.

But where? And how to fix? Suggestions Warren? You ever seen it? ...

Ive been doing PCs and PC repair for over 2 decades, but this one has me stumped.

Tanfodude

Master
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jul 25, 2012
    4 Seasons
    It might be a corroded or dirty USB socket of the donated PC. But why are you using a USB sound card when PC normally have audio jack outlet at the rear. Have you tried the other USB sockets?

I'm not an expert. Just a gamer who builds his own HTPC.

snapping turtle

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    6   0   0
    Dec 5, 2009
    Madison county
    Just an idea here take the power from where the audio amp is located and run an extension cord to power up the pc. I think what you have here is a difference in ground potential between where the pc is plugged in and the audio is plugged in.

I have seen seen this several times where we we powering a powered speaker in a gym from the soundboard. One came from one subpanel and the other from another. Maybe with the laptop changing the power input to dc it did not effect it as it laptop was itself AC ungrounded so to speak.(only the power supply was grounded. ) I used to extension cord trick to prove the problem to the electrical aub contractor showing them that the ground potential made a difference.