• ...and so much more!
  • tmschuller

Master
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    41   0   0
    Feb 25, 2013
    Grant county
    Looking to replace my husqvarna rider 1200 articulated mower. This is a 20 year old mower that has served me very well. Made in Sweden. So looking to replace it with something in the zero turn range again. Mowing a little over 2 acres of bumpy yard and about300 feet of ditch. Asking for what you guys are running and what to stay away from. Yes I know this is a loaded question so fire away. Thanks again INGO!!

GodFearinGunTotin

Super Moderator
    Staff member
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Mar 22, 2011
    Mitchell
    I've been using a Scag Turf Tiger for about 14 years now. I'd have no problem recommending one but they're pricey. I have no doubt I'll never wear it out. I may have to replace the Kohler air cooled engine but that frame and deck should last a very long time.

They don't like soft ground though. You saying you've got ditch to mow worries me, especially if it gets/stays mushy...it will get stuck in the blink of an eye. Usually at least once per spring, I wind up having to pull it out of a soft spot.

And my yard is bumpy too. Lots of very busy moles. I'm fairly sure all of the zero turns probably ride the same -- if you try to mow at speed, you'll look like the astronauts driving around on one of those lunar rovers. :D

I'm not sure how much I mow...maybe 3 or 4 acres. I just did it last Wednesday in right at 2 hours.

Last edited:

sparky32

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    11   0   0
    Feb 5, 2013
    Morgantown
    First what are you wanting to spend? I have an early dixie with a 22hp kohler and it is a tank almost 16 years old and I do my 5 acres almost twice a week in the spring and fall.

I do not however recommend a newer dixie. There are way to many options that are better and with better options for $$$. I like Exmark and Scag if i was ever to get a new model.