• Mgderf

Grandmaster
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    43   0   0
    May 30, 2009
    Lafayette
    I know things run in cycles.
    I sort of hope these runs are short, then again, they are fruitful for me.

Twice now, in the past three weeks, I've been asked to do a "B&E" (breaking and entering) on a residence in the presence of police.
    Seems tenants in Lafayette are changing the locks on the homes they rent. Once evicted, the landlords can't get in.
    The same sheriffs deputy showed up both times. I told him, "We're going to have to stop meeting like this..."

Being a contractor, I also get the job of repairing damages to the rentals, including caused by trying to gain access.
    Yesterday I managed to jimmy a slider door that had a cheap steel broom handle in the bottom rail for a block.
    I bounced the door against the broom handle a half dozen times and bent the rod far enough for me to squeeze by.

No damage caused by the entry, but OMG, once inside it smelled like someone died in there!
    After an inspection, the culprit was found to be the dishwasher, full of dirty dishes, rotted food, and a pool of mold covered stagnant water in the bottom.
    The dishwasher may be toast, not sure yet. After a drowning in bleach and evacuating the water with a wet-vac, 90% of the smell is gone.

Now we get to remove the ruined carpets and install vinyl plank flooring.
    I have a small trailer we use to haul trash.
    This one is going to take a minimum of 5 or 6 loads to the dump.

Some-one is NOT going to get their deposit back!

churchmouse

I still care....Really
    Emeritus
    Rating - 100%
    187   0   0
    Dec 7, 2011
    Speedway area
    Having worked in and around such places it amazes me how some people live.
    Section 8 especially. Some were amazingly clean and well kept while others were just **** holes.