• Cameramonkey

www.thechosen.tv
    Staff member
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    35   0   0
    May 12, 2013
    Camby area
    My wife was elected to our church's financial chair position. She is good with numbers but has absolutely ZERO tax knowledge. (I file our taxes, and I know just enough to be dangerous.)

This year we started leasing out our parsonage because it isnt needed by our new pastor, who already has a house locally. We were informed we need to file a tax return this year due to that rental income.

Now, I fully admit that I'm not a tax expert, and I didnt even stay in a Holiday Inn Express. So do we just need to file a 990-T and thats it? Rental income is all we have. [STRIKE]And line 6 under rent income references a schedule C. Do we need to fill out a separate schedule C for that line item? [/STRIKE] (EDIT: scrolled down and found all schedules are attached to the form)

On a related note, any suggestions for a tax prep expert that is familiar with this in the Indy area if it comes down to that?

Last edited:

maxwelhse

Grandmaster
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Aug 21, 2018
    Michiana
    I've had my personal taxes, and my father's business taxes, done by a firm named DWD out of Fort Wayne for about 30 years. Specially, I deal with Mark Westerhausen. If you don't want to deal with them (they do have a Marion office, but that's still not Indy), Mark would at least be able to provide you with a trustworthy, professional, recommendation.

FWIW, I don't even go in. I send them my stuff and a return and a bill pops out of the other end. Also, FWIW, having a CPA firm do my personal taxes costs me about $250, and I can ask all the goofy questions all year long that I want for free.

GLOCKMAN23C

Resident Dumbass II
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    22   0   0
    Feb 8, 2009
    S.E. Indy