• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • DCR

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Oct 6, 2009
    I'm getting a bit bored playing chess, backgammon, and bridge on my computer. I want something different and I'm not finding it. Here are my criteria.
    No shooting/killing, blowing sh*t up.
    No joystick.
    No fantasy, no characters, no role playing.
    No 50 page manual.

I'm thinking of something along the lines of the old SimCity, a board type game I never played. Strategy is important, good graphics are not. Sports would be OK. I did enjoy Madden back in the early 90s.

My favorite all time computer game is Empire, developed in the 70s, converted to PC with EGA graphics around 1990. I've been playing it since 1992. It's a strategic game of conquest based on RISK.

Appreciate any suggestions. Thanks for your time.

dvd1955

Expert
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Apr 10, 2013
    Howard County
    Hnefatafl, also known as The Viking Game, The King's Table or simply Tafl, is one of the rare breed of games with two unequal sides. The defending side comprises twelve soldiers and a king, who start the game in a cross formation in the center of the board. Their objective is for the king to escape by reaching any of the four corner squares. The attackers comprise 24 soldiers positioned in four groups of 6 around the perimeter of the board. All pieces move like the Rook in chess and pieces are taken by "sandwiching" i.e. moving your piece so that an opponent's piece is trapped horizontally or vertically between two of yours.

Just recently discovered this game and am enjoying learning the strategy.

Mr Evilwrench

Quantum Mechanic
    Emeritus
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Aug 18, 2011
    Carmel