• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • flightsimmer

Master
    Rating - 100%
    6   0   0
    Dec 27, 2008
    S.E. Indy
    I have just installed a new water heater and I'm considering a water softner.
    I have looked at the top 10? Including Culligan to get an idea of what I need. I'm on Indpls, city water line and I believe that all I need is a softner to take out mineral deposits like those that clogged my old water heater.

Can anyone tell me from experience the best route to go? P.S. I have a somewhat limited space to work with.

EvilElmo

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    8   0   0
    Feb 11, 2009
    Dearborn Co.
    I'm by no means an expert but I'll pass on the advice given to me by the guy who installed mine - pay attention to the fittings. Brass to brass is fine, nylon to nylon is fine, but brass to nylon it just going to cause you problems in the long run.

Tactically Fat

Grandmaster
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    22   0   0
    Oct 8, 2014
    Indiana
    I can't help you with much on the "what to buy" route... But take a sample of your water with you to some place and have it tested for hardness.

Indy water will probably be rather hard out of the tap. I know my Greenwood water is like 20-22 GPG / hardness. GPG = Grains Per Gallon.

I haven't had my softened water tested, but I'm sure it's probably still somewhat hard.

As far as devices: Get an on-demand softener. No reason to get one that recharges every day. Get one that'll only recharge when it needs it.

WebSnyper

Maximum Effort
    Rating - 100%
    56   0   0
    Jul 3, 2010