• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • 2A-Hoosier23

ammo fiend
    Rating - 100%
    13   0   0
    Sep 16, 2018
    Lawrence
    Hey INGO. Would love to hear your guys' thoughts on this.

I'm a undergrad student at IU Bloomington and I've settled on a Political Science and Philosophy major (that is all one major). I love studying and learning about classic political texts as well as more contemporary issues. I know many think PoliSci is a useless degree but I would disagree...

Anyway, I've obviously needed to think how to integrate my studies into a legitimate career path down the road. I recently learned that a longtime family friend is a Non-commisioned Officer with the Air Force. I've known him for as long as I can remember but I only recently came to know that he is an NCO. I had a very long and lengthy discussion with him about the perks and downsides of a military officer career. He recommended that if I'm truly interested, I should finish college because I've already started and after I've earned a bachelor's degree, I can apply to officer schools.

The more I think about it, the more this appeals to me. Every military officer I've met carry themselves extremely professionally and seem to be honest, goodhearted people, especially the family friend (who I really consider more of an Uncle than a friend). He is the epitome of badass, an excellent family man and community-minded person.

Can any of you guys here speak to the pros and cons of becoming a military officer? Perhaps which branch of the military you might recommend? Perhaps anything I can do now while pursuing my undergrad degree that could prepare me even more? Or if I need to provide more information for you to give any advice, I will gladly do that as well.

Any advice would be very well appreciated. :ingo:

Last edited:

KellyinAvon

Blue-ID Mafia Consigliere
    Staff member
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    6   0   0
    Dec 22, 2012
    Avon