• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • rhino

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    24   0   0
    Mar 18, 2008
    Indiana
    Some of you kind souls may be aware that I've been hunting for a new job since 08/22/2018 and my layoff was effective on 11/01/2018. It's been a long journey so far and I've learned a lot of things about seeking employment and life in general. Recently I have received an upswing in initial interest in my applications and has what I thought was a great interview on Friday. I was confident that among all of the other interviews and opportunities so far that this would be a job offer in the near future. I was expecting a time frame of a few weeks for the next steps, but today (it was the first business day since the interview), I received an email from the hiring manager that I was not being considered and they were moving forward with other candidates.

Obviously that's disappointing, but I am wondering how I could have called the situation so badly. I've been in other interviews and similar situation in which I thought I bombed, but afterward learned that I left a positive impression. In this case, I perceived that all had gone exceptionally well, in fact better than all previous interviews. So given the rapidity of the rejection, I clearly called it wrong, wrong, wrong.

I think I need re-calibration!

dprimm

Master
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Jan 13, 2013
    Just West of Indianapolis
    I have been wondering if you had found anything. I really feel for you. At least they told you. So few places do that anymore.

Shoot, one interview I had the person had clearly not looked at my application. What made me mad afterwards was I was interviewed by someone that just started on their bachelor degree when the position required a Masters degree. And I as recommended by my advisor. We talked at total different levels.