Btown Rural
    source.gif

rhino

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    24   0   0
    Mar 18, 2008
    Indiana
    Using an alternative search engine (to Google or Yahoo) is a good first step. A good second step is stop using Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, etc. completely. Then start using a VPN.

If you want anything approaching real privacy, you're going to have to stay offline completely and make sure that no one you know has your correct telephone number or name in any of their devices. Determined people will still be able to get information about you, but it will eliminate most of the casual intrusions.

Expat

Pdub
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    23   0   0
    Feb 27, 2010
    Michiana
    I have been using DDG for a few years. I have had a VPN for a few years as well. But I am still on FB. I also use gmail for my email.

jkaetz

Master
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    Jan 20, 2009
    Indianapolis
    Lotta VPN's are being advertised now days. How much do these protect you from the dreaded Google?
    They don't.

"Internet privacy" doesn't exist. Just assume that everything you do is collected by someone. The real question is what will they do with it. Most simply advertise to you.

fullmetaljesus

Probably smoking a cigar.
    Rating - 100%
    6   0   0
    Jan 12, 2012
    Indy
    For those of you who enjoying reading. I would suggest reading "the art of invisibility"

It's a book written by a professional hacker, Kevin Mitnick.

Has lots of info about how people get your info and use it, as well as many ways on how to protect yourself.

bwframe

Loneranger
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    93   0   0
    Feb 11, 2008
    Btown Rural
    Lotta VPN's are being advertised now days. How much do these protect you from the dreaded Google?

They don't.

"Internet privacy" doesn't exist. Just assume that everything you do is collected by someone. The real question is what will they do with it. Most simply advertise to you.