Join INGunOwners For Free
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

User Info Menu

Starting to Prep for Thanksgiving :)

Past several years I have been doing all the Thanksgiving cooking for the family. My mother doesn't like to cook and dad doesn't care. I've been taking some cooking classes and find I actually enjoy turning raw into edible, and good tasting edible at that.

This year I'll be cooking for nine (9)! Wasn't planned for but that is how it is ending up.

As I will be feeding so many folks I will be making a variety of items to choose from. I have a book for cooking centuries olde recipes called "A Feast of Ice & Fire" that has dozens of recipes coming close to what was described in the Game of Thrones recipes.

This weekend I decided to try making two (2) recipes I have never done before that I think will compliment a large Thanksgiving dinner well.

The first is black bread. This was relatively easy, although messy, and as it required a dark beer and didn't use quite the whole can I had extra to drink. Always a good thing!

I think the black bread will go well with everything and has a nice rustic style to it.

The second recipe I tried was a pork pie. It is the olde style medieval recipe dating back to the 16th century. It isn't at all what I think people will expect from a pork pie as it is very sweet. It has currants, chopped dates, honey, and ground ginger in it. Even though it has 1 1/2 pounds of pork it is barely noticeable. I think my biggest mistake here was making the top pie crust too thick which I why I wanted to make it before Thanksgiving to work out any kinks I might have. That said the pie crust does hold together magnificently and I was pleased with the outcome.

I think it will be a big surprise come Thanksgiving time.

Regards,

Doug
    Then out spake brave Horatius, The Captain of the Gate: "To every man upon this earth, Death cometh soon or late.