• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • phylodog

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    59   0   0
    Mar 7, 2008
    Arcadia
    I tinkered around with guitar when I was in high school and just a little when I was in the Army but hadn’t picked one up in 25 years until a few weeks ago. My current job has me spending a lot of time away from home and much of it is down time sitting in hotels. A few weeks ago I decided that I should do something more productive than watching YouTube videos and surfing gun forums so I picked up a Traveler guitar. I never took any lessons and the few songs I could play back then were self taught. I’ve been watching YouTube videos and trying to learn different chords and practice exercises which I feel is a better approach than what I did before but I would like to take some lessons and really try to work at things the right way (I’m sure I have some bad habits already).

Does anyone know any teachers in the Hamilton County area they would recommend? With my schedule, keeping lessons on a regular basis will be near impossible so I’m hoping for someone with some flexibility in their approach as well as the possibility of conducting some lessons via video conference. My interests are country and classic rock and possibly some classical down the road. I’m in the process of deciding whether I want to buy an electric or acoustic guitar right now but I plan to have both. I’m leaning toward an acoustic to start.

Any recommendations?

KokomoDave

Enigma Suspect
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    76   0   0
    Oct 20, 2008
    Kokomo
    Too bad you are looking in Ham County. Kokomo has Rhum Academy that is outstanding. Maybe some of the guitar shops have recommended instructors?

Ingomike

Top Hand
    Rating - 100%
    6   0   0
    May 26, 2018
    North Central