• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Concerned Citizen

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Sep 1, 2010
    Brownsburg
    Danville repeals firearms ordinances » Local News » Hendricks County Flyer, Avon, IN

From the article:
    The move was made at the suggestion of Town Manager Gary Eakin. He alerted the council about Guy Relford, a Zionsville attorney who has filed lawsuits in Evansville and Hammond because those municipalities still have laws that go against Indiana Senate Bill 292.
    Looks like they don't want a lawsuit :)

Brownsburg should be next, I've already put them on notice. I was not interested in getting asked to leave a Town Council meeting for OCing, & then starting a lawsuit, I figured it would be better to ask them change the law. So, this is the email I sent to the town manager:

Hello Mr. Kleinhenz,

I am a local resident, & have a concern with one of Brownsburg's current ordinances. According to the website I found, the Town prohibits firearms in any government buildings:

FIREARM. Any weapon which is capable of, designed to or that may be readily converted to expel a projectile, whether by means of an explosion, by the use of compressed air, compressed gas, or otherwise.
    TOWN OF BROWNSBURG GOVERNMENT BUILDING. Includes, without limitation, the Town Hall, Police Station, Fire Station No. 2 and the Police/Fire Facility (Fire Station No. 1).
    (`92 Code, § 6-166) (Ord. 96-10, passed 4-11-96)
    § 37.16 DEADLY WEAPONS PROHIBITED.

Except as provided in § 37.17, a person shall not possess on or about his person within any Town government building, any deadly weapon.
    (`92 Code, § 6-167) (Ord. 96-10, passed 4-11-96) Penalty, see § 37.99