• GNRPowdeR

Master
    Trainer Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    44   0   0
    Oct 3, 2011
    Bartholomew Co.
    I Am Not A Lawyer - My Opinion

If you were in your vehicle and were put in a place to defend yourself, then you would still be legally carrying.

If you were being car jacked and pulled from the vehicle, then I personally wouldn't see an issue long as you are able to articulate that you were in fear for your life an not protecting property.

If you are out mingling in public (walking down a street or eating in a non-posted restaurant) and were to use a firearm in defense of life, you are open to criminal charges. It would be up to the DA, in my opinion.

If you are in a posted GFZ in IL, then you are beyond the ability of the DA's help. I believe their hand would be forced.

04FXSTS

Master
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Dec 31, 2010
    Eugene
    Stay inside your vehicle with the CCW and you are legal. If you exit the vehicle the CCW must remain inside and out of sight and must be locked inside the vehicle. As long as the vehicle locks you do not have to unload. If the vehicle does not lock it must be secured inside a locked case secured to the vehicle. As far as having to use it the only reason I can see would be a car jacking and as stated already you must be defending your life not your property. Jim.

Kirk Freeman

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    8   0   0
    Mar 9, 2008
    Lafayette, Indiana
    Never get off the boat . . . even if you really, really want mangoes.

Picture%2B5X.jpg

Anima mundi

Plinker
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Feb 14, 2016
    Southport
    Kirk has the right idea. Just gas up and drive on through. Traveling with a companion is nice since somebody can stay gunned up in the car during pitstops :)

Lumpy76

Marksman
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Aug 9, 2011
    Hebron