• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Ziggidy

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    May 7, 2018
    Ziggidyville
    I am very new to Indiana and will be applying for my carry license probably this week, or at least start the process. Never had one where I used to live.

What can I expect at each step?

Do's and Don't recommendations?

4 years versus lifetime?

Any helpful info appreciated.

Thanks in advance!

GodFearinGunTotin

Super Moderator
    Staff member
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Mar 22, 2011
    Mitchell
    Unless you know you're not going to be living in Indiana for less than 4 years, get the lifetime--especially if you plan on staying here.

Follow the steps at the ISP web page. They walk you right through the process. It's easy. My son did it last year and the only quasi-hassle was making an appointment to get your finger prints electronically done. But even that wasn't a show stopper.

https://www.in.gov/isp/2829.htm

Libertarian01

Grandmaster
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    Jan 12, 2009
    Fort Wayne
    When I got my lifetime I didn't need to set up an appointment with FWPD. I just arrived with whatever I needed, told the folks what I was there for, and soon a fingerprint tech came out to get 'er done.

The hoops we jump through are minimal and as a "shall issue" state, very easy.

Welcome to Indiana.

Oh yeah, and INGO too.

Doug

Ziggidy

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    May 7, 2018
    Ziggidyville
    Thanks for the feedback.

Filled application for lifetime, scheduled prints for tomorrow, then I will go and visit the police. I live in Indy so I am correct in being able to just go to the closest police station?

I have a clean record - nothing in my past; so hopefully it will be fairly quick turn around.

rkwhyte2

aka: Vinny
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    37   0   0
    Sep 26, 2012
    Sheridan