• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Frank_N_Stein

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    79   0   0
    Nov 24, 2008
    Beech Grove, IN
    Lead stops x-rays from penetrating the body. I don't believe lead would defeat a metal detector because lead is a metal. But I'm not a scientist so I really have no idea.

BehindBlueI's

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    29   0   0
    Oct 3, 2012
    All a metal detector does is notice changes in it's magnetic field due to the presence of metal. So, no.

T.Lex

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    15   0   0
    Mar 30, 2011
    What about porcelain?

I'm familiar with some... specific intelligence sources that say certain modern porcelain can make a firearm invisible to metal detectors.

BehindBlueI's

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    29   0   0
    Oct 3, 2012
    So metal detectors only detect magnetic metals, not non-magnetic?

No. Aluminum isn't magnetic in the "sticks to iron" sense, but creates a disturbance in the electro-magnetic field the detector generates, and the disturbance is actually what the detector reacts to.

I honestly don't understand the underlying physics well enough to know why it works, but that's how it works.

Mark 1911

Grandmaster
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    12   0   0
    Jun 6, 2012
    Schererville, IN
    No. Aluminum isn't magnetic in the "sticks to iron" sense, but creates a disturbance in the electro-magnetic field the detector generates, and the disturbance is actually what the detector reacts to.

I honestly don't understand the underlying physics well enough to know why it works, but that's how it works.

Me either. But very interesting just the same. Never knew that before.

Mark 1911

Grandmaster
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    12   0   0
    Jun 6, 2012
    Schererville, IN