• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Jackson

Master
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Mar 31, 2008
    West side of Indy
    It has been a few years since I've purchased or looked in to OC Spray. I have purchased Fox Labs in the past as I understood it to be a quality product. Sabre is another popular brand.

If you have specific experience with multiple brands, consistencies, or spray patterns, I'd be interested to know what works well.

Which brands are best?

Are there police agency testing trials that can be referenced to evaluate reliability or efficacy?

I only have experience with plain stream or cone spray types. Are gels or foam sprays worth it? If so, can they be found in the key chain size cannisters?

Are there other considerations I'm overlooking?

Where can non-LE folks go for quality OC training?

Selfpreservation

Marksman
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Sep 13, 2015
    Central
    I'm a certified instructor for oleoresin capsicum aerosol training, commonly known as oc or pepper spray. However, other than for crowds or animals, I am not a fan of oc spray. On individuals, I have seen it not work as many times as I have seen it work.

I am issued First Defender MK3, and have been for most of my police career. It shoots a stream, which I highly recommend. I find you get better distance, accuracy and less residual effects. I have not used the gel or foam sprays, but have spoken with officers who have and the feedback I received did not lead me to believe they are any better.

I'm sure there's some research out there if your google-fu is strong. If I recall correctly, Force Science Institute has done some research and testing.

Jackson

Master
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Mar 31, 2008
    West side of Indy