• ...and so much more!
  • edporch

Master
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    25   0   0
    Oct 19, 2010
    Indianapolis
    SITUATION: I'm out and about and a criminal attempts to shoot me with a taser.

Am I legally allowed to use my carry pistol to shoot the attacker and stop the attack?
    Or am I compelled by law to just let them shoot me with the taser under the theory that it's a "non lethal" weapon?

PRasko

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    6   0   0
    Dec 3, 2013
    Amish country
    I am not a lawyer.

Assault is a felony. Taser or not.

35-41-3-2

(c) A person is justified in using reasonable force against any other person to protect the person or a third person from what the person reasonably believes to be the imminent use of unlawful force.  However, a person:
    (1) is justified in using deadly force;  and

(2) does not have a duty to retreat;

if the person reasonably believes that that force is necessary to prevent serious bodily injury to the person or a third person or the commission of a forcible felony.  No person in this state shall be placed in legal jeopardy of any kind whatsoever for protecting the person or a third person by reasonable means necessary.

(d) A person:
    (1) is justified in using reasonable force, including deadly force, against any other person;  and

(2) does not have a duty to retreat;

if the person reasonably believes that the force is necessary to prevent or terminate the other person's unlawful entry of or attack on the person's dwelling, curtilage, or occupied motor vehicle.

Thor

Grandmaster
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Jan 18, 2014
    Could be anywhere
    Do you believe they will stop with the taser? If someone breaks into your house will they stop with only stealing stuff?

I think in both cases you must assume their intent is to kill you.

If not a taser, how about a bat or hammer? Assault is an action, not a tool.

CitizenX

Marksman
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0