• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Smitty506th

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Sep 22, 2008
    I think this is a no-brainer but I was just wondering if anyone in here knew if converting a .22 to full auto required a class 3. I am thinking yes but I thought I would ask anyway. Also if one were to convert it would you then have to get it registered? (Not that "up" on class 3 info, thus the questions)

Colt556

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    65   0   0
    Feb 12, 2009
    Avon
    I'm no expert but I'd say yes to both. I'm thinking it might have to be converted by a Class 3, or is it 2, manufacturer. I'm sure you'll get the correct answer here soon though.

Don

Expert
    Emeritus
    Rating - 100%
    19   0   0
    Jan 17, 2008
    Greenfield
    No new full auto since may 1986, sorry unless your a c3 dealer/SOT. Your not converting one unless you buy a REGISTERED prior to 1986 trigger pack.

Bill of Rights

Cogito, ergo porto.
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    7   0   0
    Apr 26, 2008
    Where's the bacon?
    legally for the general publis there is no way to convert a semi auto firearm to F/A

That's what I thought before I read BigCraig and Don's posts.

FWIW, though, that surprised me. I thought you had to have a registered (prior to 86) receiver, which is the actual firearm. Craig or Don, what's the registered part on those? Your mention of a "trigger pack" makes me think you're talking about several parts. Clarify, please? :)

Thanks and Blessings,
    Bill

VUPDblue

Silencers Have NEVER Been Illegal !
    Rating - 100%
    25   0   1
    Mar 20, 2008
    Franklin Township